Announcing the 2019 Class of Champions for Change

Washington, DC, January 4, 2018 -- The Aspen Institute’s Center for Native American Youth (CNAY) will celebrate its seventh cohort of CNAY Champions for Change through a series of recognition events in Washington, DC, next month. The 2019 Champions include Autumn Adams (Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Nation), Shandiin Herrera (Navajo Nation), Madison White (Mohawk Nation at Akwesasne), Charitie Ropati (Native Village of Kongiganak), and Adam Soulor (Mohegan Tribe).  


House of Representatives Swear in First Two Native American Women

On the first day of the 116th Congress, Laguna Pueblo woman, Debra Haaland (NM-1) and Ho-Chunk Nation’s Sharice Davids (KS-3) were sworn into the House of Representatives. CNAY staff joined tribal leaders, citizens, and Congressional members from across the country at a reception to honor this historical event. Members of Congress in attendance included: Steny Hoyer (MD-5), Derek Kilmer (WA-6), Raul Ruiz (CA-36), and Gwen Moore (WI-04). Also in attendance was the #NoDAPL supporter and celebrity Mark Ruffalo, who took the time to meet and speak with tribal attendees. CNAY looks forward to working with this Congress to continue advocating on behalf of Native Youth.


Native Youth #OptOutside

The Gen-I #OptOutside Call to Action is part of The Center for Native American Youth’s partnership with REI to continue to build platforms for Native youth leaders to advocate for the protection of lands, sacred sites, and waterways. This collaboration highlights how stewardship of the outdoors is central to the value systems and cultures of indigenous communities across the country. As part of this collaboration, we asked Native youth leaders in the Gen-I network to join REI on the Friday after Thanksgiving to #OptOutside and share with us what nature and the outdoors means to them. Below are some highlights of the 2018 campaign.

Paul Wilson, The Klamath Tribes, 21 years old, Grand Prize Winner