House of Representatives Swear in First Two Native American Women

On the first day of the 116th Congress, Laguna Pueblo woman, Debra Haaland (NM-1) and Ho-Chunk Nation’s Sharice Davids (KS-3) were sworn into the House of Representatives. CNAY staff joined tribal leaders, citizens, and Congressional members from across the country at a reception to honor this historical event. Members of Congress in attendance included: Steny Hoyer (MD-5), Derek Kilmer (WA-6), Raul Ruiz (CA-36), and Gwen Moore (WI-04). Also in attendance was the #NoDAPL supporter and celebrity Mark Ruffalo, who took the time to meet and speak with tribal attendees. CNAY looks forward to working with this Congress to continue advocating on behalf of Native Youth.